Friday, April 11, 2008
continuation of journey to belgium
where did i stop...guess it was where we embarked a bus in the afternoon heading for Belgium. upon arriving i was mesmerizing those days where we had a family tour in this country. i could not recall much besides the 'Maniken Piss' and things like chocolates which they were famous for. we lived in this hotel de france which was located in the 'dodgy - est' area in brussels. we only realized it after being told by some chinese restaurant staff during dinner. the train station was filled with moroccans... i was a lil vigilant when i first arrived in the station... the entire surrounding brings an aura, like as if everyone glares at you, targeting and endeavouring to make a move on ppl like us. we felt like preys in a predators grove. despite trying to be alert at all times i was way too tired to care about my surroundings except for holding my belongings with hands in my pockets. a friend of mine unfortunately got approached by three moroccans where one asked him for a cig, the other was chatting and playing some football moves on him.. hence he was pickpocketed. the 3rd party who took the wallet had dissapeared and we approached the other 2 guys demanding for the wallet back but definitely in vain. the following day we headed for Grande place, the square in the middle of the city where we took loads of photos while looking into shops especially choc ones.. the weather was chilly initially but became very cold and even snowed on the 2nd day! again i was freezing... i had the opportunity to have some belgian beer which i did not in the last trip, beers were higher in alcohol content not to mention cheaper and was rather smooth but was not really my cup of tea. as usual we went to 'maniken piss' where everyone else were quite disappointed with that monument taking up so little space of the junction along the streets... remember?? we spent an entire day in "Mini Europe" what a disappointment... it loses out to windows of the world by a milion times. still took loads of pics though. transport in brussels was free for the entire trip, dunno why but we just ignored fares and hopped on and off whenever we had to. on the final day, alas we went to a place which we missed the last time.. Bruges. pretty nice town..at least u dont see dodgy ppl around and there was everything a tourist requires to taste and purchase there.. lovely souvenirs.. i forgotten what they called those knitted products.., chocolates... palatable food bla bla bla. the most special thing which i never knew is the existence of the "Basilic". its a cathedral containing the "Alabaster Jar". St. Andrews or Joseph wiped Jesus with that piece of cloth after the cruxification so it definitely was a must see in Bruges. go watch "IN BRUGES" by Colin Farrell to get an idea of Bruges if you all have not seen that place. heard it was not bad.A series of unfortunate events took place on the last day before leaving this godforsaken place where we were staying in where a frend of ours got pickpocketed on the train deliberately and another got snatched off her handphone in the train. in that split second the two girls went hot on his trail while me and another friend was left to glance at them running of with shock as the train doors had already closed. was the worst event throughout the trip on the following day, as students who are commonly rooting for the cheapest rates.. we stayed up for our flight which was 6 am in the morning... being able to return home was relieving as we know that we have put ourselves in a much safer situation. that would be about it.. i will add on further details if i come up with any... love you all!!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comment:
hehehe...well 1st trips on your own are always lessons to be learnt hor, so da next time around, have to be wiser;-) we're all too pampered by dada and mama, both of whom takes care of EVERYTHING when we are on family trips...so fun right..aih, can hardly own up to our ages..where to next darling?do choose some place you have not been okie...love always!!
jie
Post a Comment