muaxxx
Sunday, April 27, 2008
Turning 24
I turned 24 about 2 weeks ago, goodness, am I getting old. Well, age is just a number right, so no worries, I am totally optimistic about staying young at heart. My girl-friends brought me out to Bagan, this colonial bungalow that was refurbished into a restaurant. The ambience was delightful, I must say, with lots of candles and plants greeting us as we entered.
My birthday cake was really special though, haha it had 2 different flavours, half Belgian truffle and the other cappucino cheesecake. Yummy! We finished it between the 6 of us, it was absolutely sinful but well, its my big day and I was going to indulge in whatever I loved most;-) oh, by the way, the waiter who brought me my cake, he was a transgender known as Baby. Aw...
Then the exciting part came, opening presents time!!! Just exactly what I wanted! An electric toothbrush!! Haha, it was really funny, to be laughing and getting all hyped up over a toothbrush. I couldn't wait to go home and brush my teeth that night. The food was commendable, I had steak but their medium rare was tooo rare. I had to get it re-cooked so hmm, I think the Ship does a better job. Cause I have always ordered medium rare, since I was a kid and it has never tasted like fresh blood.
And to wrap it all up, a group photo of us girls!! It was a great night, good company, good food and great cake! What more could you ask for, when all we did was study study study all the time right? Okie dokes, sis...I have not heard from you in 1 week, hope your musical went well and call me when you are free okies? Bro, we'll go a-hunting for Jay in Taiwan ok? Remember my plan? Hahaha, I love you so much for the support and laughter! lets hope it works k...hahaha...byez my honey buns
muaxxx
muaxxx
Tuesday, April 15, 2008
Interview with SPA
Helloo sweeties!Today, I had my interview with the SPA representatives, to be more exact, the head of the SPA (oh, btw it means Suruhanjaya Perkhidmatan Awam) and his lovely escort. Oh, she is a doctor by the way, specialising in Public Health. Yucks, how boring right.. Anyway, I was there to register at 8 am and was the last on the list for the interview. Great. 16 names ahead of me. Sigh. Nevermind, think optimistic...I had more time to study!;-)
So, I headed off to Coffee Bean with my 3 classmates and had a good cuppa coffee+ egg salmon bagel while discussing the questions that they might ask us. How interesting, when I should have been doing more boring stuff like sleeping in. Good thing the breakfast was scrumptious.
Then, there were the negative remarks pouring in about the interview. Some were asked emergency managements, post-partum haemorrhage (goodness, O&G seemed so distant) and they were apparently screwed upside down. Oh no!! I only felt worse and seriously, anxiety was creeping into my nerves... the feeling of impending doom. What could be worse than you being asked a question that you have absolutely no idea about? And oh I forgot to mention, the scenario is when you are given only one chance to impress. No flipping.
Finally, at 2 pm..yes, I waited since 8 am, the bell rang and it was my turn. Yikes, I had butterflies in my tummy* Surprisingly, they were really nice! And they asked me all about you two and mum and dad. I have no idea why. And they asked me if you two were going to work in Malaysia after your studies. I stupidly answered "Im pretty sure". I could have killed myself. Now, they are going to think that you guys will be around to take care of mum and dad, thus giving them the green light to send me off to some "sang ka la" place. At least, that was the interpretation of their thought process by my group mate. I dug my own grave;-(
The whole thing went smoothly, and I was asked about tropical diseases, malaria. Luckily it was something I was kinda familiar with. And she asked me everything about it, even to the extent of the public health measures. Aiyo...I only know that it is a notifiable disease. Period.
So yup yup, I was done at 20 past, so I sacrificed my morning urology teaching for this supposedly important thing, he better grant me my first choice! grumble grumble, I waited 6 hours! Though, Im glad its over. Now for more important things: 7 weeks countdown to finals starts now! Call me dears. I am so bored of studying.
So, I headed off to Coffee Bean with my 3 classmates and had a good cuppa coffee+ egg salmon bagel while discussing the questions that they might ask us. How interesting, when I should have been doing more boring stuff like sleeping in. Good thing the breakfast was scrumptious.
Then, there were the negative remarks pouring in about the interview. Some were asked emergency managements, post-partum haemorrhage (goodness, O&G seemed so distant) and they were apparently screwed upside down. Oh no!! I only felt worse and seriously, anxiety was creeping into my nerves... the feeling of impending doom. What could be worse than you being asked a question that you have absolutely no idea about? And oh I forgot to mention, the scenario is when you are given only one chance to impress. No flipping.
Finally, at 2 pm..yes, I waited since 8 am, the bell rang and it was my turn. Yikes, I had butterflies in my tummy* Surprisingly, they were really nice! And they asked me all about you two and mum and dad. I have no idea why. And they asked me if you two were going to work in Malaysia after your studies. I stupidly answered "Im pretty sure". I could have killed myself. Now, they are going to think that you guys will be around to take care of mum and dad, thus giving them the green light to send me off to some "sang ka la" place. At least, that was the interpretation of their thought process by my group mate. I dug my own grave;-(
The whole thing went smoothly, and I was asked about tropical diseases, malaria. Luckily it was something I was kinda familiar with. And she asked me everything about it, even to the extent of the public health measures. Aiyo...I only know that it is a notifiable disease. Period.
So yup yup, I was done at 20 past, so I sacrificed my morning urology teaching for this supposedly important thing, he better grant me my first choice! grumble grumble, I waited 6 hours! Though, Im glad its over. Now for more important things: 7 weeks countdown to finals starts now! Call me dears. I am so bored of studying.
Friday, April 11, 2008
continuation of journey to belgium
where did i stop...guess it was where we embarked a bus in the afternoon heading for Belgium. upon arriving i was mesmerizing those days where we had a family tour in this country. i could not recall much besides the 'Maniken Piss' and things like chocolates which they were famous for. we lived in this hotel de france which was located in the 'dodgy - est' area in brussels. we only realized it after being told by some chinese restaurant staff during dinner. the train station was filled with moroccans... i was a lil vigilant when i first arrived in the station... the entire surrounding brings an aura, like as if everyone glares at you, targeting and endeavouring to make a move on ppl like us. we felt like preys in a predators grove. despite trying to be alert at all times i was way too tired to care about my surroundings except for holding my belongings with hands in my pockets. a friend of mine unfortunately got approached by three moroccans where one asked him for a cig, the other was chatting and playing some football moves on him.. hence he was pickpocketed. the 3rd party who took the wallet had dissapeared and we approached the other 2 guys demanding for the wallet back but definitely in vain. the following day we headed for Grande place, the square in the middle of the city where we took loads of photos while looking into shops especially choc ones.. the weather was chilly initially but became very cold and even snowed on the 2nd day! again i was freezing... i had the opportunity to have some belgian beer which i did not in the last trip, beers were higher in alcohol content not to mention cheaper and was rather smooth but was not really my cup of tea. as usual we went to 'maniken piss' where everyone else were quite disappointed with that monument taking up so little space of the junction along the streets... remember?? we spent an entire day in "Mini Europe" what a disappointment... it loses out to windows of the world by a milion times. still took loads of pics though. transport in brussels was free for the entire trip, dunno why but we just ignored fares and hopped on and off whenever we had to. on the final day, alas we went to a place which we missed the last time.. Bruges. pretty nice town..at least u dont see dodgy ppl around and there was everything a tourist requires to taste and purchase there.. lovely souvenirs.. i forgotten what they called those knitted products.., chocolates... palatable food bla bla bla. the most special thing which i never knew is the existence of the "Basilic". its a cathedral containing the "Alabaster Jar". St. Andrews or Joseph wiped Jesus with that piece of cloth after the cruxification so it definitely was a must see in Bruges. go watch "IN BRUGES" by Colin Farrell to get an idea of Bruges if you all have not seen that place. heard it was not bad.A series of unfortunate events took place on the last day before leaving this godforsaken place where we were staying in where a frend of ours got pickpocketed on the train deliberately and another got snatched off her handphone in the train. in that split second the two girls went hot on his trail while me and another friend was left to glance at them running of with shock as the train doors had already closed. was the worst event throughout the trip on the following day, as students who are commonly rooting for the cheapest rates.. we stayed up for our flight which was 6 am in the morning... being able to return home was relieving as we know that we have put ourselves in a much safer situation. that would be about it.. i will add on further details if i come up with any... love you all!!
Sunday, April 6, 2008
Pride and Prejudice
Sis and bro, you both need to watch this movie if you have not already done so. The English language is absolutely beautiful... Come, let me share a few good verses I learnt from the movie...Next time, if you want to reprimand your child, instead of the same old "Off the TV NOW and go do your homework!",we shall adapt " Stop what you are doing at once and go get yourself some useful employment"...now, does that not sound lovely?Dim right ;-)
And if a guy ever says something like, "Don't you dare break up with me, you do not know what you are missing" *Oh please*...A good comeback would be: " Do you expect me to embrace in the inferiority of your circumstances?" Ooo...that will "silence him forever"...Hahaha.. of course, if he says something rude back, I mean, if he dares to.. we can add "And those are the words of a gentleman!"...Ooo..he'll be so ashamed of himself, he'll turn away and never look back. Good eh?!
Then there is the romance...
Absolutely breathtaking...I mean...when a man looks into your eyes and say " You have bewitched me, body and soul, and I love, love... I love you. I never hope to be parted from you this day on." So romantic right....melting, melting...
Yet another verse, if you make a mistake and the other party is fuming mad, the English language faces the problem so ethically correct, there's just no comparison. " I shall not renew the sentiments which were so disgusting to you, but if I may, I wish to address the offences that you have laid against me. " Even the most angry person will calm down a little.
That's my "impulse of the moment" for today, and as I have to go "improve my mind by a sense of reading" as I would like to be the "young woman who has the patience to be so accomplished "... I mean not like in the movie, as its all about writing, drawing, dancing and the modern languages to "deserve the word" (accomplished), its farewell for now my dears,...and oh, I cannot wait to hear from you two, maybe a letter or two perhaps?;-)
Bro and sis.. I love you both, most ardently.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)